News from the AGM & Awards Evening 2015

Well, the 2015/16 season is alreadywell underway with near capacity audiences and glowing reviews of Summerseat Players’ inaugural production of the new theatrical year with Ladies’ Day by Amanda Whittington.

However, let’s take a moment to look back at last season following the recently held AGM & Awards Evening, affectionately dubbed “The Rammies”!

The evening commenced with reports from the Treasurer Irene Hill and Chairman Geoff Sword, who, seated on stage behind part of the Ladies’ Day set and flanked by President Leslie Norris and Secretary Graham Humphreys, resembled contestants on some form of game show, gave the audience an insightful and often amusing update on business and activities during the last financial year. Copies of the financial statements were made available and it is good to note how well the theatre is doing, largely because of its loyal patrons and healthy door sales, which make the theatre one of the most well attended of its size in the UK.

Then, in a new format to the AGM, the audience were treated to a cabaret performance from Any (pronounced Annie) Partington who transported us to a Parisienne street cafe with strains of an accordion player and a very authentic rendition of some of the songs of Edith Piaf. All we were short of was a bottle of vin rouge and a baguette!

Following this, and introduced by a very smartly turned out Brian Hunt, our Chairman, President and Secretary returned to the stage to present the awards for the previous season. First to be recognised were members of the youth group with special awards for Kirsty and Jenny from the younger group, along with Harriet and Leah from the older group. Leah had also been recognised in the recent GMDF awards for her portrayal of Summer in Last of the Haussmans.

Next to receive commendations were other nominees from the GMDF awards, including Bob Howell and Clodagh O’Flynn for their performances in ‘Lend Me A Tenor’, the production/technical teams for ‘One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest’, the adjudicators Discretionary award for the “excellent comic entertainment” of the curtain call of ‘Lend Me A Tenor’, and winning a special GMDF adjudicators award was Danny Hewitt for his nightly dramatic exit through an open window in Cuckoo’s Nest.

Awards on the night went to the following people deemed last season’s worthy winners by Summerseat Players’ esteemed committee:
• The Les Norris Technical Award was presented to Dave Ogden and the whole backstage team
• The John Cropper Award for Best Performance in a cameo role went to Emma Morris for her role as Candy in ‘One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest’
• The Paula Higginbottom Award for Best Actress in a comedy role went to Jane Embury for her role as Maggie in ‘Lend Me a Tenor’
• The Dennis & Peggy Hudson Award for Best Actor in a comedy role went to Chris Dunn for his role as the Bellhop in ‘Lend Me a Tenor’
• The President’s Award for Services to the Society went to Jenny McConkey for taking over the part of Judy Haussman in ‘Last of the Haussmans’ just days before opening night
• The winner of the Gillian Rogers Rosebowl for best play of the season was “Heroes”.

And finally, collecting both GMDF Best Actor trophies and the Dr Barrie Miller Memorial Trophy for Best Actor was a well deserving John O’Connell for his portrayal of Randle McMurphy in Andrea Kinsella’s production of ‘One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest’.

Congratulations to everyone concerned and also a special mention from this blogger to those who were well deserving of awards but surely only narrowly missed out this time.

Coming next to the Theatre Royal from Summerseat Players:
A double bill of Sherlock Holmes stories including a UK stage premiere of Bert Coules’ original radio mystery ‘The Abergavenny Murder’, alongside a dramatisation of ‘The Lion’s Mane’. Check out the website, theatre literature and our Facebook page for more information and details of how to buy tickets. This is a studio production so seats are limited – don’t miss out!

Click on the title to post a comment.